Your Biggest and Last Regrets

This one isn’t, strictly speaking, about evolution and creationism, but we know how to make it fit in. Take a look at what we found in the UK’s Guardian: Top five regrets of the dying. The sub-title says:

A nurse has recorded the most common regrets of the dying, and among the top ones is “I wish I hadn’t worked so hard.” What would your biggest regret be if this was your last day of life?

The article is interesting, somewhat, but the top five regrets it describes are the sort of thing you would expect. Number one is:

I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.

That’s not bad. Perhaps, when the time comes, we might wish that we had unleashed our inner Curmudgeon.

The number two regret is no big deal: I wish I hadn’t worked so hard. But look at number three:

I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.

That one won’t be much of a problem around here. But what about the Discoveroids, who are forever concealing their old-time creationism in order to maintain the facade of being scientific? Will they regret the course they have taken? Do they regret it even now? Unless one of them turns whistle-blower and spills the beans in a tell-all book — titled My Life as a Fraud Among Fools, we’ll never know.

The fourth and fifth regrets are typical of the others: I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends. And lastly: I wish that I had let myself be happier.

The list contains no surprises — unless we stop to think about what didn’t make the top-five list. A large portion of the population is creationist, yet we don’t see: “I wish I had given more money to Hambo’s Creation Museum.” Nor do we see: “I which I had spend every living moment proclaiming the evil of Darwinism.” Why is it that when the Grim Reaper is near, no one seems to regret that he wasn’t even more fanatically creationist?

We can’t help wondering what it is that creationists do regret. Maybe they’re so pleased with themselves that they regret nothing. But surely, some of them must wonder if they wasted their lives and ruined others by leading them astray. Perhaps not. Idiots probably have no regrets, and as we’ve remarked before: Creationism means never having to say you’re sorry.

Copyright © 2013. The Sensuous Curmudgeon. All rights reserved.

add to del.icio.usAdd to Blinkslistadd to furlDigg itadd to ma.gnoliaStumble It!add to simpyseed the vineTailRankpost to facebook

. AddThis Social Bookmark Button . Permalink for this article

11 responses to “Your Biggest and Last Regrets

  1. last paragraph, most should be must. I wish I could spot my own mistakes as quickly.

  2. No real regrets. I have a problem that could kill me at anytime, I have the fatal disease called LIFE and can go at any time. So I have thought on this and even played the ‘what-if’ game.
    No work regrets except that I had upwards of 3 jobs at the same time and loved doing them all-worked at Bell Labs as a failure mode analyst-worked at a stereo shop doing electronic repair-taught electrical theory at the tech college, had a lab at home, wife, 2 kids…Awesome time, worked long hours and enjoyed every second–no, family was not neglected.
    Totally true to myself, once asked if I had any goals? Said NO because setting goals can blind one to the wide scope of opportunities available.
    All the friends I wish to keep in touch with I have–the others are dead.
    I can’t let myself be any happier with my life…that is foolish as it has gone as I have let it so I should be happy. My kids are doing OK and my G’Kids are awesome (OK I’m partial).
    My only regret is the idiot ID’er responsible for this is an incompetent fool and it should have done a much better job so I could live longer with a lot less pain….the incompetent idiot phucking moron with schite for brains!!!!

  3. When I think of regrets I think of 1800s mathematician William Shanks who had an interesting hobby of calculating digits of pi but made a mistake on the 528th digit messing up all further calculations. His life’s work can now be done in less than a second with a computer.

    In the creationist department we have David Coppedge, whose web site woefully asks:
    What happened, Lord?
    I was racing through life, leading groups on outdoor trails, working in a reputable job in the space program, leading non-profit organizations, speaking, writing–the consummate multitasker. My goal was always to glorify God and point people to His wonders in creation and salvation in His Son Jesus Christ.
    Then I got in trouble at work for sharing my views on intelligent design. I was demoted and humiliated.
    Then I sued my employer for discrimination and retaliation. Then I got fired.
    Then I took my high-profile case to court, resulting in five-week trial reported around the country.
    Then I lost the case. One judge ended my hopes of vindication, with no explanation.
    Then I got cancer.

  4. Our Curmudgeon longs for a Discoveroid who

    turns whistle-blower and spills the beans in a tell-all book — titled My Life as a Fraud Among Fools

    They weren’t Discoveroids, but it is thanks to one Tim Rhodes and Matt Duss that the infamous Wedge Strategy was leaked and published on-line. The Discotuters did try and deny the document, marked “Top Secret” and “Not for Publication.”

    And that document tells you pretty much everything you need to know about the Discovery Institute

  5. Paul S observes: “last paragraph, most should be must.”

    Right. Thank you. It’s fixed now.

  6. So the nurses aren’t reporting how evolutionists at their death beds express their horror of looking back on an empty and meaningless life? You know, our entire existence is pointless unless we are Intelligently Designed. RIght? Right?

  7. I regret not making Gary spray Mt. Dew just one more time. *

    * Unless this accomplishes that task. ;-)

  8. (tag closed)

    I didn’t realize David Coppedge has cancer. Cancer sucks.

  9. TA; Cancer Sucks that should be the official slogan for the American Cancer Society.

  10. @TA: I fell off the wagon (sips his Mt Dew). It might still happen. You just never know…

  11. Ceteris Paribus

    Maybe True Believer™ David Rives will regret never seeing the stars with the same kind of wonder as unbeliever Carl Sagan.