China’s War on Dogs

This is way off topic, but we can’t ignore it. Fox News reports: In China, dog owners have bone to pick over large-breed crackdown. We’ll give you just the first two paragraphs:

Chinese police squads are reportedly sweeping through the country’s capitol city on a state-sponsored hunt for residents who harbor large-breed dogs — like Labradors, Dalmatians and collies — as pets.

The New York Times reports the police, bearing nets and metal snares, are confiscating the animals, which cannot be recovered and often end up in the hands of dog-meat dealers, in tune with a long-standing law prohibiting large-breed dogs within the city limits of Bejing.

You know our attitude toward dogs. As we said in Why Are the Neanderthals Extinct?, dogs and humans co-evolved over tens of thousands of years, and each species aided the other’s survival. Were it not for dogs, we’d probably be as extinct as the Neanderthal. We owe our very existence to dogs, and a true human instinctively cares for them.

This latest Chinese atrocity is beyond savagery — it’s literally inhuman. We can only hope our own government, which has been growing increasingly insane for at least a generation, isn’t crazed enough to adopt the same policy.

Copyright © 2013. The Sensuous Curmudgeon. All rights reserved.

add to del.icio.usAdd to Blinkslistadd to furlDigg itadd to ma.gnoliaStumble It!add to simpyseed the vineTailRankpost to facebook

. AddThis Social Bookmark Button . Permalink for this article

5 responses to “China’s War on Dogs

  1. China has form in this sort of madness. See Four Pests Campaign, especially the ‘blow back’ from the ‘Kill a Sparrow’ pogrom.

  2. I saw a video recently on how they harvest bear bile in China (which in TCM is considered a potent medicinal). The groans and crys of the bear are heartbreaking. I’d preferif they used the normal Chinese way of making fake stuff.

  3. When I was in Beijing four years ago, there were very few dogs. When I was there two summers ago, the number of dogs had greatly increased. A sign of affluence. I think Beijing is too crowded for everybody to have a dog.

    When I went to Tibet, I was afraid of the Tibetan mastiffs, because I’d read Paul Theroux’s Riding the Iron Rooster and his description of being driven in a taxi into Tibet and coming down over the pass and the first thing he sees, in the dark of the night, is some nomad’s giant mastiff lunging at the car. Those mastiffs are the size of small ponies. I saw one outside a police station and from 100 feet away it was pretty damn scary.

    Lhasa had no dogs. I took a trip out of Lhasa, and in West Tibet, which is really the wild west, dogs were a big problem. The dogs there are mostly mixes of the mastiff and Chinese breeds. Quite threatening.

    I went to stay overnight beside the sacred lake of Nam-Tso in the Kunlun Mountains, elevation, about 15,500 feet. The lake had recently been “developed”… meaning the contruction of many “guest houses”… which were corrugated metal sheds lined up in rows. No heat, no light bulbs, the lock on the door is a padlock. A guest house appropriate for a bag of potting soil, perhaps.

    Anyway at night there may be no electricity if they turn off the generator. So you go outside of your “guest room” with a toothbrush and brush your teeth in the light of your flashlight and spit out the toothpaste.

    But then, what happens if you need to pee at night? Well the latrine (unlighted, horrible) is perhaps 100 yards away, and the walk is through the pitch dark. As you walk there with your flashlight, these packs of wild dogs growl at you, and their red eyes glow in the light of your flashlight. Quite frightening.

    We went to far western Tibet to circumnambulate sacred Mt. Kailash. The town that is the jumping-off point for circumnambulations is a real wild west town. I mean sheep with twisted horns wandering in the street– I saw a sheep saunter into a convenience store– and trains of wild yaks carrying cargo down main street. Bars and restaurants have pool tables out in the “front yard”, and guys play pool out in the open. The bath house has wooden barrel baths. You sit in the barrel with a cigarette and a beer. Latrines indescribable.

    There were a LOT of wild dogs there. One night some local girl got ripped up by a wild dog– as I heard the story, she was leaving a disco to go to the latrine, and some dog ripped her up. So the local Chinese cops decided to kill all the dogs.

    One night after dinner, after dark, I told my travelling companions to go on ahead to the guest house without me, as I wanted to call my son. (Even small towns in Tibet have cell phone service, but not around the mountains.) Bad decision. After talking to my son I had to walk to the guesthouse by myself. The last quarter mile was all cobbled road, pitch dark, no streetlights. I wasn’t afraid of bandits, I was afraid of the damn dogs.

  4. Diogenes says: “Latrines indescribable.”

    I think I’ll pass on bringing my dogs to visit Tibet.

  5. Our Curmudgeon declares:

    I think I’ll pass on bringing my dogs to visit Tibet

    Unless, of course, one of your pups turns out to be the next reincarnation of the Doggy Lama