Creationist Wisdom #699: Billy Graham & Another

Today we’re bringing you two letters-to-the-editor. The first appears in the Kansas City Star with this headline: Billy Graham: Even scientists know there is only so much they can answer.

That’s right, it’s Billy Graham, the most famous evangelist in the US, and maybe the world, born in 1918 and still going strong. We’ll give you some excerpts, enhanced with our Curmudgeonly commentary and some bold font for emphasis. Here we go!

His letter is a reply to this question:

Why do we need religion today? I think science is able to explain most of the mysteries that religion used to deal with. I don’t mean to offend you, but I think religion is outdated.

Of course Graham has a response. We’ll let you judge its merit. He says:

During my lifetime I’ve been privileged to know a number of men and women who were distinguished scientists — many of whom had a strong faith in God and were committed followers of Jesus Christ. Instead of seeing faith in God as something out of date and irrelevant, they saw it as something vital and important.

Why is this? As I talked with them, they said they had been influenced especially by three truths. First, they realized that science is limited, and can never answer some of life’s most basic questions: Who am I? Where did I come from? Why am I here? How should I behave? Where am I going when I die? Only God can answer those questions — and he has, by giving us his word, the Bible.

Although creationists don’t like the answer, science does tell us where we come from; but Graham is correct — science doesn’t deal with the other questions. Let’s read on:

More than that, they had been influenced through their study of the world around us. It takes far more faith (one of them told me) to claim the world just happened by chance than to believe God created it. The creation points to its Creator!

Creationists all say that. The rest of Graham’s response is about being saved from your sins, so this is where we’ll leave it.

Our second letter-to-the-editor came to us in a tip from one of our clandestine operatives, “Blue Grass.” It appears in the Lexington Herald-Leader of Lexington, Kentucky. The title is NASA could have saved taxpayers’ money by just checking the Bible.

Because the writer isn’t a politician, preacher, or other public figure, we won’t embarrass or promote him by using his full name. His first name is Marvin. Excerpts from his letter will be enhanced with some bold font for emphasis, but it’s very short and there’s no need for any Curmudgeonly commentary. Here we go!

A June 17 Associated Press article reported on a NASA spacecraft bound for Jupiter to “study how the largest planet in the solar system was formed and evolved.”

My King James Bible, which all born-again Christians should be using, tells me in John 1:3 that “all things were made by Him and without Him was not anything made that was made.”

This is the rest of it:

What a waste of taxpayers’ money.

The newspaper has a comments feature, and even though it’s published in Kentucky, the commenters all think Marvin is an idiot. It’s encouraging to learn that although there’s no limit to what a drooling creationist might say, there really is a limit to what the surrounding population will accept.

Copyright © 2016. The Sensuous Curmudgeon. All rights reserved.

add to del.icio.usAdd to Blinkslistadd to furlDigg itadd to ma.gnoliaStumble It!add to simpyseed the vineTailRankpost to facebook

. AddThis Social Bookmark Button . Permalink for this article

8 responses to “Creationist Wisdom #699: Billy Graham & Another

  1. My King James Bible, which all born-again Christians should be using, tells me in John 1:3 that “all things were made by Him and without Him was not anything made that was made.What a waste of taxpayers’ money.
    Yep, we should have stopped all technological development once we hit the Bronze Ages!

    The delusion is strong in this one.

  2. I see all born again Christians speak English, and Ye Olde English at that.

  3. Re “First, they realized that science is limited, and can never answer some of life’s most basic questions” Uh, as scientists, how can they know this?

    As to those basic questions, I can answer all of them.

    Who am I? C’est moi, c’est moi, c’est moi.

    Where did I come from? California

    Why am I here? I chose to move here after retirement.

    How should I behave? Normally.

    Where am I going when I die? Into a giant furnace to return my atoms into Nature.

    I can even answer the big one: “Why am I here?” I am here to make sure that the Christians don’t kill us all to fulfill their God’s plan.

  4. Dearest Marvin;
    The question was HOW the planet was formed. “Made by Him” only tells us WHO, it doesn’t answer the question. You get an F for not doing the assignment.

  5. To repeat Steve…on “Who am I? Where did I come from? Why am I here? How should I behave? Where am I going when I die?” Science can answer ALL those questions!!! Xtians just hate the answers so they deny them!!!

  6. “It takes far more faith (one of them told me) to claim the world just happened by chance than to believe God created it.”
    Agreed. But something is lacking: it takes exactly zero faith to claim that the world happened along probabilistic schemes – and that’s infinitely less than the faith needed for goddiddid.

  7. @mnbo
    That the world just happened by chance is not exclusive of that God created it.
    And, as those two are not exclusive, also they are not exhaustive possibilities.
    And one should not accept something according to the amount of faith that it takes. The quality and quantity of the backing should be important.

  8. People are being conditioned to believe only what the speaker wants them to believe. We see it in the republican/Trump “campaign,” i.e., Hillary bad & satanic, put in jail, Trump good for all. In religion it’s Darwin that’s evil with bad consequences, the bible holds only truth and goodness (skipping the bad parts of course). But the influence of Graham and other preachers is far reaching, and politicians try to avoid “offending” them even when they know religion is at fault. Regarding influence and wealth and doing good for the people, here’s a tangential article about how much these preachers make and what they do in return for those caught up in their spells.
    http://www.trend-chaser.com/politics/richest-mega-pastors-america/?utm_campaign=rmp-d-us-160719-tc-ya&utm_medium=cpc&utm_term=n-c-joel4_1200_pastor.jpg&utm_source=yahoo&utm_content=247a55-32208134304