Interview with a Creationist Playwright

Buffoon Award

Last week we wrote A Discoveroid Version of “Inherit the Wind”, about a Discovery Institute post praising playwright and actor Matt Chait, who wrote a creationist version of the famous play. Chait he calls his play Disinherit the Wind. In it, the Scopes Trial is completely turned around so that the creationists are the good guys.

That Discoveroid post was written by John West,whom we affectionately call “Westie.” He was an early winner of the Curmudgeon’s Buffoon Award. Westie is vice President of the Discovery Institute, which makes him one of the chief Keepers of their wedge strategy.

Westie has just written about the play again, thus the jolly logo above this post. His new post is Disinherit the Wind: An Interview with Matt Chait About His Play. It’s a very long interview, so we’ll excerpt only the fun parts, with bold font added by us for emphasis:

Westie: What inspired you to write Disinherit the Wind? How did you get the idea?

Chait: I was touring in a show in 1968 and was in the habit of calling my girlfriend back in New York about once a week … During one of these calls she mentioned to me that she had begun doing exercises that “made you high.” I couldn’t imagine it. … The exercises were called yoga (a word that I had never heard before) and I resolved to take some yoga classes as soon as I returned to New York.

The classes that I found were taught by someone named Swami Satchidananda or by young people that had been studying with Swami, and they did make you high; at least for me they did. It was a kind of intoxication without toxins and I shortly found myself adapting a vegetarian diet, as Swami suggested, attending his lectures, and going on weekend yoga retreats that he ran from a place in upstate New York. This began a spiritual odyssey for me that lasted eight years and brought me in contact with a number of wonderful teachers.

BWAHAHAHAHAHA! The Swami started him on an eight year spiritual odyssey. Chait continues:

At the end of this time I felt that I had a strong framework for understanding myself, my relationship to others, and to the universe and a strong sense of why we were here on this planet.

This is exciting! We are learning about the origins of this creationist play. Then Chait talks about frustrating conversations he had with scientists, whom he couldn’t understand. Regarding one such conversation, he says:

Finally, as a last ditch effort to get me off the phone, he told me to read Richard Dawkins’s The Selfish Gene, that Dawkins could explain it much better than he could, and before I had a chance to say anything else he said good night and quickly hung up the phone. The Selfish Gene was the most infuriating piece of nonsense I had ever read. I could be silent no longer.

So Chait became a creationist blogger. He goes on:

The more I wrote the blog, the more I discovered about the specific workings of science. It really is remarkable how much you can learn, starting with almost no scientific background at all, just by using Google and Wikipedia. The first few years of writing this blog were a very fertile time for me. It wasn’t just the excitement of learning all this new biological information but of finding ways to reframe it in a spiritual context.

It was a very natural step from this to Disinherit the Wind, which combined this new passion for writing about the relationship between spirituality and science with my old passion for theater.

Isn’t this wonderful? The interview continues:

Westie: In the published script for your play, you thank “scientists Michael Denton, Michael Behe, Stephen C. Meyer, Jonathan Wells, and William Dembski both for their brilliance and for their indomitable courage to speak truth to power.” I wondered if you could share with us how these scientists influenced you.

Chait: I read Behe, then Denton, Stephen C. Meyer, etc. Each of these books was a revelation. Here was science explained in a way that made perfect sense to me. While Dawkins’s writings undermined my spirituality, the writings of the scientists of Discovery Institute enhanced it. So I am greatly indebted to them for all the knowledge and insights that their wonderful, and wonderfully detailed and researched books have provided.

The interview goes on a great length, but we’ve given you what we consider the good stuff. No go, dear reader, and read it all. Then you’ll understand what it takes to make a great creationist playwright — and why you will never be one.

Copyright © 2016. The Sensuous Curmudgeon. All rights reserved.

add to del.icio.usAdd to Blinkslistadd to furlDigg itadd to ma.gnoliaStumble It!add to simpyseed the vineTailRankpost to facebook

. AddThis Social Bookmark Button . Permalink for this article

23 responses to “Interview with a Creationist Playwright

  1. Christine Janis

    “It really is remarkable how much you can learn, starting with almost no scientific background at all, just by using Google and Wikipedia.”

    That just about sums up the expertise of most people who defend ID/creationism.

  2. It really is remarkable how much you can learn, starting with almost no scientific background at all, just by using Google and Wikipedia.

    Him and Jenny McCarthy.

    I love his idea that the test of the validity of a scientific text is whether or not he finds it spiritually rewarding. “Put away those lying tables of yours, Mr. Napier . . .”

  3. realthog says: “I love his idea that the test of the validity of a scientific text is whether or not he finds it spiritually rewarding.”

    It’s even better that Westie thinks this is worth blogging about.

  4. “… you thank “scientists (?) Michael Denton, Michael Behe, Stephen C. Meyer, Jonathan Wells, and William Dembski both for their brilliance and for their indomitable courage to speak truth to power.” [yes, powerful scientists one and all]
    “I read Behe, then Denton, Stephen C. Meyer, etc. Each of these books was a revelation [church talk!]. Here was science explained in a way that made perfect sense to me [from idiots to another idiot]. While Dawkins’s writings undermined my spirituality, the writings of the scientists of Discovery Institute enhanced it.

    Ah, yes, what more could one expect from the church of the Dishonesty Institute than one’s increased spirituality!

  5. Speaking truth to power? Forget “truth”, the only “power” the DI has ever addressed has been gullible school boards and creationist legislators.

    It IS a bit strange that West would post an interview, in an approving manner, with a character who claims his spirituality tells him what is true.

  6. michaelfugate

    I always ignore science that doesn’t make me feel good. I have decided not to believe in viruses from now on. I have also decided ignore all the health concerns about any food. I am feeling spiritually uplifted already.

  7. “Here was science explained in a way that made perfect sense to me.

    Here Chait unintentionally reveals the mistaken presumption that almost universally underlies creationist beliefs. That presumption is: for something to be true, that something must feel right or make intuitive sense. Add in the strong cultural reinforcements for this intuitive mistake and voila, you get creationism.

    Perhaps Chait doesn’t know of the myriad counterintuitive findings of science. Per the creationist epistemic method here, quantum mechanics, relativity, the atomic structure of matter, etc should all be jettisoned because those findings don’t jive with our “common sense.”

  8. Chait’s interview is an essentially perfect example of:
    “If you show people how to destroy their own power of reason, some will eagerly finish the job on their own.”

  9. Reflectory says:

    Here Chait unintentionally reveals the mistaken presumption that almost universally underlies creationist beliefs. That presumption is: for something to be true, that something must feel right or make intuitive sense.

    This is what my favorite Youtube blogger calls “the feelies”.

  10. The only way this makes any sense is if Westie thinks it will impress the Discoveroids’ generous patrons, by showing them that intelligent design theory is making progress by showing up in popular culture.

  11. I wonder what he would think of a play in which there are no descriptions of the characters, what they do, when or when it takes place, no motivation …
    That being “Intellligent Design’.

  12. michaelfugate

    Speaking of people influenced by spiritual experiences, any run across this guy before?

  13. So I wonder how many people are attending this wonderful show of his?

  14. michaelfugate

    I think it ran for about a month on weekends at a 50 seat theater in LA. Couldn’t be more than 500 people probably.

  15. I’m not American, so perhaps the argument eludes me. It seems to run: I can’t tell the difference between [excrement] and clay, you say that you can, I will trust you, therefore if you say it isn’t [excrement]….

  16. The, ah, science of creationism?

    That’s an odd label for a belief system which rejects most of modern science and pretends that pure faith in a literal reading the Bible, and the Bible alone, is enough to understand the natural world.

  17. When I play golf, I try to get the highest score possible. Those jerks who swing the club only 68 times a round undermine my spirituality.

  18. “…she mentioned to me that she had begun doing exercises that “made you high.” ….”
    What was in the water??? I’ve heard LSD does get you into contact with the universe.

  19. @Mark Germano
    I think that there should be legislation which permits schools to present alternative scoring for sports. If golf and racing say that the lowest score is the winner, why not the same for football and basketball?

  20. “I read Behe, then Denton, Stephen C. Meyer, etc. Each of these books was a revelation. Here was science explained in a way that made perfect sense to me …”

    One suspects Erich von Däniken would make the same grateful reader understand what archaeology should REALLY be about.

  21. Westie deserves an oak leaf cluster on his buffoon badge for this one

  22. When I look out of my window only Flat Earth makes sense to me. Just checked – I don’t see curvature. A Flat Earth also lifts my spirituality. QED.

  23. Cyano de Bacteregerac

    @mnb0

    The thought of being in the midst of cold, dark, airless space gives me the creeps, that’s why I’ve decided to embrace the Biblical truth that the sky is a solid roof above our heads, where God and His angels dwell. And don’t get me started about the idea that we’re whizzing in space at breakneck speed! I prefer to be on stable, unmoving ground. Can you feel any movement? Can you? No? I thought not. Then there isn’t any. Appearance is reality, whether it’s with the shape of the Earth, its movement or the design of living organisms. And it feels good to boot! /endsnark(antipoe)